Classic Singles #26: The Choab – I’m Not Your Steppin’ Stone / Why Am I Alone? (1966)

Choab_labelAs mentioned in my previous Classic Singles post, The Chob also issued a single as The Choab in 1966, this time on the QQ label. I am sure that I don’t have to tell you that the a-side is the Boyce and Hart classic that first appeared on Paul Revere and The Raiders’ album Midnight Ride in May 1966, though most will probably know the song from The Monkees’ version that hit the charts in November of that year. It has of course been covered many, many times since.

As we might expect from the purveyors of ‘We’re Pretty Quick’, The Choab (a slang term for a pimple apparently) do a fine job on their version of this song.

The b-side is a band original – a brooding garage punker that really takes off when the stinging guitar solo kicks in.

Reissues: You can find ‘Why Am I Alone?’ on Teenage Shutdown Volume 3 or the Garageland label’s Punk Classics; surprisingly ‘I’m Not Your Steppin’ Stone’ has yet to be reissued.

One thought on “Classic Singles #26: The Choab – I’m Not Your Steppin’ Stone / Why Am I Alone? (1966)

  1. Hey, I think your website might be having browser
    compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Firefox,
    it looks fine but when opening in Internet
    Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

