Classic Singles #7: The Allies – I’ll Sell My Soul / Burning Flask (1966)

“I trace a line against the sky, pondering life, waiting to die…”

Allies_labelThis single on the Valiant label is the work of a group from Barstow, CA. ‘I’ll Sell My Soul’ is a moody garage number with a simple but very effective guitar intro/outro and organ solo.

‘Burning Flask’ is a jangling folk-rocker with a Byrds/Beau Brummels feel, and is yet to make it onto a compilation.

There is another single by an Allies on Reprise dating from 1968: ‘I Would Love You / Sound of Children’, though I can’t find any information to confirm whether or not it is the same band.

‘I’ll Sell My Soul’

‘Burning Flask’

$50 to $60 should be enough to secure a copy of the 1966 waxing. The a-side is probably easiest tracked down on Sixties Rebellion Volume 14.

Leave a Reply

